Anthony Caro in the gardens of the van Buuren Museum from 10 May until 8 October 2017

The van Buuren Museum, in collaboration with the Caro Foundation and the Daniel Templon Gallery, has decided to exhibit the work of a major name, not only in English sculpture, but also on the international stage: Anthony Caro (1924-2013). The artist’s sculptures will grace this stunning setting during the spring and summer of 2017. Even though modern and contemporary sculpture follows in the footsteps of the previous centuries, there is one significant difference: it has become autonomous and no longer fulfils a specific function. Modern-day artists express themselves in all freedom. Anthony Caro, much acclaimed for his innovative approach of removing the sculpture from its plinth and encouraging direct interaction between viewers and the work, exemplifies this trend magnificently. He saw sculpture as a form of art that opens up onto space.

Visitors will have an opportunity to lose the world in the paths of the park’s Labyrinth, to peacefully meditate in the Jardin du Cœur, both designed by René Pechère, and to explore the marvellously picturesque garden or stroll through the recently restored rose gardens Jules Buyssens originally created. Lastly, make sure to call into the David and Alice van Buuren House Museum: a unique collection of Art Deco furniture, signed tapestries, sculptures and paintings by Belgian and international masters from the 15th to the 20th century, all left in situ in the intimate setting of a private dwelling.


Anthony Caro

English artist born in 1924 and deceased in 2013 Having obtained his engineering degree, he went on to study sculpture at the Royal Academy in London. From 1951 to 1953, he worked as an assistant to Henry Moore. At his first solo exhibition in Milan in 1956, he presented figurative work. On a trip to the United States, he met sculptor David Smith. He was fascinated by Smith’s work and Smith encouraged him to abandon his figurative work. He began to construct sculptures by welding or bolting together pieces of prefabricated metal (steel, iron, alloys). Deeming that paint interfered with his attempts to set sculpture fee, he soon abandoned his initial practice of painting them. He taught at Central St Martins, the college of art and design in London. His questioning of shape, matter and the very concept of sculpture itself strongly influenced his students: Tony Cragg, Philip King or Richard Long, including the future generations.

In 1975, the MOMA in New-York hosted the exhibition “Anthony Caro: A Retrospective”. In 1984, in honour of his 60th birthday, the Serpentine Gallery in London exhibited some of his architectural work which visitors were encouraged to penetrate. He was given a knighthood in 1987 and became Sir Anthony Caro. His travels brought him to Greece, Japan… He received the Order of Merit in 2000. The last sculptor to receive this distinction was Henry Moore in 1963. Anthony Caro can be seen in all the major institutions around the world.

Degroof Petercam

Practical details

Name of the exhibition:
Anthony Caro dans les jardins du Musée van Buuren

Location:
Musée et Jardins van Buuren
41 Av. Léo Errera, 1180 Bruxelles

Dates:
10 mai- 8 octobre 2017

Non-group visitors:
every afternoon from 14:00 until 17:30, Tuesdays excepted

Groups:
every day from 09:00 until 16:30, by appointment only.

Rates and terms:

www.museumvanbuuren.be

Copyrights:
Anthony Caro sculptures : © Photo : Thierry Balasse
Museum interior: © Photo : Michel De Bray

Partenaire
vignette

© Photo : Thierry Balasse

vignette

© Photo : Thierry Balasse

vignette

© Photo : Thierry Balasse

Anthony Caro dans les jardins du Musée van Buuren 10 mai – 8 octobre 2017

Le Musée van Buuren, en collaboration avec le Studio Caro, a choisi d’exposer dans ses jardins, un grand nom de la sculpture anglaise et de la scène internationale : Anthony Caro (1924-2013). Les sculptures de l’artiste investiront ce cadre exceptionnel durant le printemps et l’été 2017. La sculpture moderne et contemporaine s’inscrit dans la continuité des siècles précédents, avec une différence pourtant significative : elle acquiert son autonomie, elle ne répond plus à une fonction précise. L’artiste d’aujourd’hui s’exprime en toute liberté. Anthony Caro illustre magnifiquement cette tendance, lui qui cherchait à libérer la sculpture de ses attaches, qui aimait la confrontation directe de l’œuvre et du spectateur. Il considérait la sculpture comme un art ouvert sur l’espace.

Dans le parc, les visiteurs auront l’occasion de se perdre dans les allées du labyrinthe, de se laisser aller à la méditation dans le jardin du cœur, tous deux créés par René Pechère. Ils pourront également se promener dans le merveilleux jardin pittoresque et les roseraies dessinés par Jules Buyssens, récemment restaurés. Enfin, n’oublions pas la maison-musée de David et Alice van Buuren: ensemble unique de mobilier Art Déco, tapis signés, vitraux, sculptures et tableaux de maîtres belges et internationaux du 15 ème au 20 ème siècle restés à leur place dans le cadre intime d’une maison privée.


Anthony Caro

Artiste anglais né en 1924 et décédé en 2013. Après une formation d’ingénieur, il étudie la sculpture à la Royal Academy de Londres. De 1951 à 1953, il sera l’assistant d’Henry Moore. En 1956, à Milan, pour sa première exposition personnelle, il montre des sculptures figuratives. Au cours d’un voyage aux Etats-Unis, il fait la rencontre du sculpteur David Smith. Son travail le fascine et le pousse à abandonner le figuratif. Il se tourne vers des sculptures faites de soudures ou d’assemblages d’ensembles préfabriqués métalliques (acier, fer, alliage). Il peindra ses sculptures pendant un temps seulement. Il considère que la couleur entrave sa démarche pour libérer la sculpture. Il enseigne au Central St Martins College Art and Design, à Londres. Ses questionnements sur la forme, la matière et la notion même de sculpture vont fortement influencer ses élèves : Tony Cragg, Philip King ou Richard Long ainsi que les générations futures.

En 1975, le MOMA à New-York lui offre une rétrospective. En 1984, pour ses 60 ans, à Londres, à la Serpentine Gallery, il présente des œuvres à caractère architectural, dans lesquels le spectateur peut pénétrer. En 1987, il est anobli et devient Sir Anthony Caro. Ses voyages l’emmènent en Grèce, au Japon… En 2000, il est décoré de l’Ordre du Mérite. Avant lui, le dernier sculpteur à avoir obtenu cette distinction est Henry Moore en 1963. Anthony Caro est présent dans toutes les grandes institutions à travers le monde.

Degroof Petercam

Infos pratiques

Titre de l’exposition:
Anthony Caro dans les jardins du Musée van Buuren

Lieu:
Musée et Jardins van Buuren
41 Av. Léo Errera, 1180 Bruxelles

Dates:
10 mai- 8 octobre 2017

Horaires Individuels:
tous les après-midi de 14 h à 17 h30, sauf le mardi

Groupes:
tous les jours de 9h 30 à 16h 30, sur réservation uniquement.

Tarifs et conditions

www.museumvanbuuren.be

Copyrights visuels:
Anthony Caro sculptures : © Photo : Thierry Balasse
Intérieur musée : © Photo : Michel De Bray

Partenaire
vignette

© Photo : Thierry Balasse

vignette

© Photo : Thierry Balasse

vignette

© Photo : Thierry Balasse