PRESENT

A project by Michel Van Dyck in collaboration with Isabelle Anspach Conservator of Van Buuren Museum.

Museum and Gardens Van Buuren from June 25 to September 30 2018

In September 2016, Michel Van Dyck made whole at the Van Buuren Museum with his two passions, gardens and contemporary art. He then proposed "As if nothing had happened", an exhibition for which he wished the works of the invited artists would blend into the Museum as if they had always been there. Out of the white cube of the galleries, they stealthily punctuated this marvelous place barely used to contemporary art. It looked like they were trying to accustom the place to their presence, as if they were trying to tame it, while letting these uncommon spaces act on them. The visitor was invited to a sort of treasure hunt, which led him from one work to another, almost randomly through this walk.


The new edition of the event extends the principle but emphasizes it differently. It gives it fresh perspectives. Michel Van Dyck called it "Present" and no doubt we should seize the word in all its polysemy. Familiarly, Present! is the interjection by which the members of a group to enumerate will respond when they make their call. The trait is amusing. As often humor says more than it seems. This time around, the artists are invited to compose interventions that assume their presence, creating with their environment an open and uninhibited exchange. No more question of acting as if being there without being there. In myth, paradise is often represented as an intramural garden, a closed place where time has stopped in the bliss of a perpetual present. We are not dead yet. We know that it is better to cultivate one’s garden and that the present is perpetually to be built. "Present" would be an urgency to pay attention to it in troubled times, an incentive to remain attentive, the evocation of a here and now that must be found in every moment. Especially since the least of the contemporary troubles might be this great Web of virtuality? Of ubiquity? So much is happening on a screen placed between us and the world! "Present," which also resonates with what we give, the gift, reminds us of the grace of true presence.

 

- Stefan Liberski


ARTISTS:

Bente Skjottgaard, Carole Vanderlinden, Carlotta Bailly-Borg, Charlotte Vander Borght, Ritsue Mishima, Sarah Caillard, Sherrie Levine, Tatiana Wolska, Denicolai & Provoost, Benoit Plateus, Christophe Doucet, Christophe Terlinden, Damien De Lepeleire, Daniel Boccato, David Adamo, Douglas Eynon, Erwan Maheo, Gijs Milius, Filip Vervaet, François Curlet, Jan Vercruysse, Jonathan Sullam, Jos de Gruyter & Harald Thys, Koenraad Debobbeleer, Luca Vitone, Marcel Berlanger, Martin Belou, Nicolas Party, Oscar Tuazon, Peter Wächtler, Roeland Tweelinckx, Stefan Nikolaev, Stephane Barbier Bouvet, Tanguy Poujol, Takayuki Sakiyama, Vincent Chenut, Yoshiro Kimura.

 

Acknowledgements : Joel Benzakin


Museum and Gardens Van Buuren

41 Avenue Léo Errera
1180 Brussels
Every day 2 pm - 5.30 pm
Closed on Tuesday
Museum and Gardens:
Adult 10 € — Senior 8 €
Student 5 € — Child - 12 years Free
museumvanbuuren.be

PRESENT

Un projet de Michel Van Dyck avec le soutien d’Isabelle Anspach Conservatrice du Musée et Jardins Van Buuren.

Musée et Jardins Van Buuren du 25 juin au 30 septembre 2018

En septembre 2016, Michel Van Dyck  réunissait au Musée Van Buuren ses deux passions, les jardins et l’art contemporain. Il proposait alors "Comme si de rien n’était",  une exposition pour laquelle il avait souhaité que les œuvres des artistes invités se fondent dans le Musée comme si elles y étaient depuis toujours. Sorties du cube blanc des galeries, elles émaillaient furtivement cet endroit merveilleux peu habitué à l’art contemporain. On aurait dit qu’elles tentaient d’accoutumer le lieu à leur présence, comme si elles cherchaient à l’apprivoiser, tout en laissant agir sur elles ces espaces inusités. Le visiteur était convié à une sorte de chasse au trésor qui le menait d’une œuvre à l’autre, au hasard presque de sa promenade.


La nouvelle édition de l’événement prolonge le principe mais l’accentue différemment. Elle lui donne d’autres perspectives. Michel Van Dyck  l’a intitulé « Présent » et sans doute faut-il saisir le mot dans toute sa polysémie. Familièrement, Présent ! est l’interjection par laquelle les membres d’un groupe à rencenser répondent lorsque l’on procède à leur appel. Le trait est amusant. Comme souvent l’humour en dit plus long qu’il n’y paraît. Cette fois, les artistes sont invités à composer des interventions qui assument leur présence, nouant avec leur environnement un échange ouvert et décomplexé. Plus question de faire comme si on était là sans y être. Dans le mythe, le paradis est souvent représenté comme un jardin intra muros, lieu clos où le temps s’est arrêté dans la félicité d’un présent perpétuel. Nous, nous ne sommes pas encore morts. Nous savons qu’il vaut mieux cultiver son jardin et que le présent est perpétuellement à construire. « Présent » serait une urgence à lui porter attention en des temps troubles, une incitation à rester attentif, l’évocation d’un ici et maintenant qu’il faut retrouver, à chaque instant. D’autant que le moindre des troubles contemporains n’est-il pas cette grande Toile de la virtualité ? De l’ubiquité ? Tant de choses se déroulent sur un écran placé entre nous et le monde ! « Présent », qui résonne aussi avec le don, le gift, nous rappelle la grâce de la vraie présence.

 

- Stefan Liberski


ARTISTES:

Bente Skjottgaard, Carole Vanderlinden, Carlotta Bailly-Borg, Charlotte Vander Borght, Ritsue Mishima, Sarah Caillard, Sherrie Levine, Tatiana Wolska, Denicolai & Provoost, Benoit Plateus, Christophe Doucet, Christophe Terlinden, Damien De Lepeleire, Daniel Boccato, David Adamo, Douglas Eynon, Erwan Maheo, Gijs Milius, Filip Vervaet, François Curlet, Jan Vercruysse, Jonathan Sullam, Jos de Gruyter & Harald Thys, Koenraad Debobbeleer, Luca Vitone, Marcel Berlanger, Martin Belou, Nicolas Party, Oscar Tuazon, Peter Wächtler, Roeland Tweelinckx, Stefan Nikolaev, Stephane Barbier Bouvet, Tanguy Poujol, Takayuki Sakiyama, Vincent Chenut, Yoshiro Kimura.

 

Remerciements : Joel Benzakin


Musée et Jardins Van Buuren

41 Avenue Léo Errera
1180 Bruxelles
Tous les jours 14h - 17h30
Fermé le mardi
Musée et Jardins:
Adulte 10€ - Senior 8€
Etudiant 5€ - Enfant -12ans Gratuit
museumvanbuuren.be